PRogram for the Epidemiological EValuatIon of Stroke in Tandil, Argentina

Organizational Structure

PREVISTA study is led by an academic steering committee composed of two co-chairs and local and international experts in stroke and epidemiology. This committee will provide scientific direction and input, will address policy issues regarding the protocol, and will meet periodically to assess the trial progress. PREVISTA study has an advisory board comprised by two international stroke experts who will provide input and guidance with respect to specific scientific issues (e.g. publication strategy and quality). A subset of the Steering Committee has overseen the study protocol and has decided on the final approval of the primary manuscript. This committee will assess enrolment and conduction of the study; and will supervise the publication of subgroup analyses as “threaded publications”. A certified neurologist in Tandil City will be responsible for leading the operational aspects of the study, functioning as a chief operational officer or general local coordinator. Every participating center will have a team of field investigators led by a principal investigator. Every investigator was trained in GCP, in stroke diagnosis and treatment, in the use of modified Rankin Scale, and in the interpretation of each of the study variables prior to the initiation of the study. The local study coordinator will be responsible for administrative assignments of the study.

Quality Control

A certified neurologist will be in charge of data quality control with the purpose of ensuring consistency and completeness of data. A case will be closed and restricted for further changes if CRF is consistent and complete. By contrast, if inconsistences or missing data are detected, a query will be sent to the study coordinator, who will be responsible of contacting the corresponding investigator for solving the data quality issue. The database will be closed after the last patient undergoes quality control. 

Trial Administration

The trial will be administered by the INECO Foundation, an Argentinean non-profit organization that promotes research; scientific training of professionals in the field of neurosciences; and community education on the prevention, the early detection, and the treatment of neurological and psychiatric diseases.

Results and conclusions reported in this manuscript are those of the authors and are independent from any funding source or trial administrator.


Principal Investigators

Luciano A. Sposato, MD MBA FAHA (1,2)
María Cecilia Bahit, MD (1)

General Coordinator
Mariano L Coppola, MD (3,4,5)

Steering Committee
Luciano A. Sposato, MD MBA FAHA (1,2)
María Cecilia Bahit, MD (1)
Mariano Coppola, MD (3,4,5)
Alejandro Díaz, MD (3)
Valery L. Feigin, MD (6)
Renato Lopes, MD (7,8,9)
Damián Silva, MD (3)
Thomas Truelsen, MD (12)

Advisory Board
Alejandro Rabinstein, MD (10)
Gustavo Saposnik, MD (11)

Study Coordinator
Paola Lascurain

Site Coordinators
Juan Altamirano, MD (Sanatorio Tandil)
Patricia Maccarone, MD (Nueva Clínica Chacabuco)
Alejandro Díaz (H. Ramón Santamarina)

Juan Altamirano, MD (3,4,5)
Brenda Borrego Guerrero, MD (5)
Jorge Casanova, MD (14)
Maximiliano De Martino, MD (3)
Alejandro Díaz, MD (3)
Fernando Funaro, MD (4)
María E. Gradillone, MD (3)
María L. Lewin, MD (3)
Daniel H. López, MD (4,5)
Mariel Louge, MD (4)
Patricia Maccarone, MD (4)
Cecilia Martens, MD (3)
Marcelo Miguel, MD (4)
Hernán Morasso, MD (14)
Patricia M. Riccio, MD (2)
Damián Silva, MD (3)
Ramón Suasnabar, MD (4)
Araceli Uzcudun, MD (3)
Carlos A. Viviani, MD (13)


2.Department of Clinical Neurological Sciences. University of Western Ontario, London, Ontario, Canada.

1.Vascular Research Institute at INECO Foundation, Buenos Aires, Argentina.
3.Hospital Ramón Santamarina, Tandil, Province of Buenos Aires, Argentina.
4.Nueva Clínica Chacabuco, Tandil, Province of Buenos Aires, Argentina.
5. Sanatorio Tandil, Tandil, Province of Buenos Aires, Argentina.
6. National Institute for Stroke and Applied Neurosciences, School of Rehabilitation and Occupation Studies, AUT University, Auckland.
8. Duke Clinical Research Institute, Durham, NC, USA.
9. Brazilian Clinical Research Institute (BCRI)
10. Neuroscience Intensive Care Unit, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, USA
11. Stroke Outcomes Research Center, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute, Departments of Medicine and Health Policy Management and Evaluation (HPME) and Institute for Clinical Evaluative Sciences (ICES). St. Michael’s Hospital, University of Toronto, Ontario, Canada.
12. Department of Neurology, Copenhagen University Hospital, Herlev, Denmark.
13. Círculo Médico de Tandil, Buenos Aires, Argentina.    
14. Resonancia del Centro, Tandil, Argentina